Recognising great community work

THE Australia Day Awards Committee has received many outstanding nominations this year for Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Community Event of the Year.

“It really is important to recognise the hard work and achievements of the people who contribute so much to our community. Congratulations to all who have been nominated and good luck,” committee member Cr Carol James said.

The awards will be announced at Goulburn’s Australia Day ceremony in Victoria Park on Saturday

The Citizen of the Year nominations are:

* Dr Paul Paviour, internationally renowned composer and musician;

* Thomas Bryant, historian, vintage car buff and author;

* Dale Wake, who has spent his working life on the railway is president of the Goulburn Loco Roundhouse Preservation Society;

* Ian McMurdo, founder and President of the Goulburn Branch of Can Assist;

* Peter Beilby, who has a 46 year involvement with the Australian Air Force Cadets’;

* Dr Thomas Lyttle, who has dedicated his life to providing outstanding surgical services, and;

* Andrew and Michael Divall, business owners Divalls Earthmoving and massive community and charity supporters.

Young Citizen of the Year nomination: 

* Jakub Nabaglo, member of the Goulburn Mulwaree Youth Council and the local Interact Club who has made a significant contribution to Mulwaree High School and the Goulburn Mulwaree community.

Community Event of the Year nominations

* Convoy for Kids 2012;

* Goulburn North Public School Fireworks Night;

* NSW Catholic Primary Schools Basketball Championships, and,

* Open Garden Fair Riversdale.

Friday’s Goulburn Post will feature a full Australia Day preview.



Discuss "Recognising great community work"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.