Sports results and draws

Sports results and draws


Goulburn Railway Men's Bowling Club

Report for the Week Ending Sunday 5th August 2018.

News around the Club. 

It is with regret that we inform you of the loss of one of our older and long serving members of our Club Reece Taylor. Reece was held in high regard by all members and will be remembered as a great character, friend and bowler. Our thoughts go to his wife Margaret and all his family and friends. Rest in Peace Reece.        

The ACT Champion of Champion Pairs

What a great weekend of bowls. Last weekend we were privileged to be awarded the final of the ACT Champion of Champion Pairs at our club. There were some terrific bowls played by some of the best in the ACT. Matches were played on both Saturday and Sunday and some great bowls were played. There were 11 clubs from within the ACT represented in this championship by their Pairs Champions. 

By Sunday morning this had come down to four teams; Goulburn’s team of Hayden Ward and Keith Gray were successful in making the semi final but were defeated by the strong Canberra North Team in a close match 17 to 14. In the other semi the Weston Creek Team defeated the Yass team 31 to 12.

We then moved on to the final that was played between the Weston Creek Team Skipped by Mac Mclean and lead by Chris O’Connor and the Canberra North Team of David Hill and Robert Kelly. The Weston Creek Team got away to an early lead but Canberra North were able to peg them back near the end. Weston Creek ended up winning the ACT Champion of Champion Pairs 26 to 13 after a great display of bowls.

We were privileged to have the following executives from ACT Bowls in attendance, Ms Kate Lyttle the CEO, Mr Wally Kuhn the President accompanied by his wife and Mr Bill Rush Chairman of Umpires accompanied by his wife.

Winners of the Semi Final and the Goulburn Team who they defeated. L to r Robert Kell Canb North, Keith Gray from Goulburn, David Hill from Canberra North and Hayden Ward the Goulburn Skip.

Winners of the Semi Final and the Goulburn Team who they defeated. L to r Robert Kell Canb North, Keith Gray from Goulburn, David Hill from Canberra North and Hayden Ward the Goulburn Skip.

Annual General Meeting.

This year’s AGM is to be held on Sunday the 26th August at 10 am. We ask all members to attend if possible. Nominations have now opened for all committee positions. Nomination Forms are on the Notice Board. It would be great to see some new faces on the board. 

Club Championships.

Minor Singles Championships.

The Minor Singles are now being played and in early matches Rod Palin defeated Ken Moloney 25 to 20. David Marsh had a win over Kevin Rudd 25 to 18. In a very close match Brian Cox had a win over Logan Watts by one 25 to 24. This was a great match and both players must be congratulated. In the second Round played on Sunday Paul Johnson had a win over Rod Palin 25 to 18. Brian Cox had a forfeit. Jason Albrighton defeated David Marsh 25 to 22 and Michael Argent defeated Norm Lang 25 to 18. The Semi Finals are to be played on or before the 18th August.

Major Club Fours Championship.

The Club Fours are to be played this weekend of Saturday 11th and Sunday the 12th of August. 

Novice Championship.

The draw has now been done for this championship and the first round must be played by the 1st of September. 

Club Consistency.

Bowlers still in this championship are asked to get their games completed as soon as possible.

Bowls Results 

Social Bowls

Wednesday 1st August 2018.. Men’s Triples. Sponsors for the day were BDCU Alliance Bank. The winners of the day were Ian Drysdale, Greg White and Cec Isaac who defeated Phil Greenhalgh, Bruce Herrett and Chris Herrett 22 to 10 and 18 points. The runners up were Reg Thoms, John Piggott and Kevin Rudd who defeated Norm Lang, Ray Bentley and Ken Moloney 30 to 10 and 16 points. In other matches playing Pairs Ray Riches and Justin Hawkins defeated Ken Fowler and Geoff Burns 28 to 11. In another pairs game Bill Murphy and Ray Walters defeated Jason Albrighton and Brian Cox 26 to 19. In the other triples match played Bob McNeil, Michael Watts and Peter Bacon had a draw with Youko Kavjalainen, Rod Palin and Greg Murphy 18 all.

The Jackpot of $384 was not won. 

Friday 3rd August 2018. Men’s Single Entry Pairs. Sponsors for today were Craigs Hill Crematorium. Player numbers meant we needed to play one games of triples. The winners of the day were Michael Argent and Greg White who defeated Russ Sheely and Rod Palin 25 to 12 and 18 points. The runners up were Youko Kavjalainen and Ivan Apps who defeated Kevin Hayward and Col Loveday a visitor from Ingleburn. In other matches Michael Watts and Brian Cox defeated Dennis Forbes and Bob Toole 19 to 17. Mat Dubos and Norm Lang defeated Joe Price and Jason Albrighton 26 to 15. Ray Riches and John Cassidy defeated Paul Johnson and Bob Seaman 19 to 15. In a gam eof triples Ken Fowler, Peter Simpson and B Wright a visitor from Picton defeated Ray Bentley, John Miller and Garry Scott 23 to 22. 

The jackpot of $159 was won by rink 13.

Saturday 5th August was abandoned again owing to inclement weather. 

Selector’s Roster for next week.         

Today Friday 10th August 2018.Men’s Nominated Pairs. Selectors on duty are Michael Watts and Kevin Rudd..

Saturday 11th August 2018. Mixed Pairs. Selectors on duty are the Ladies Club.

Wednesday 15th August 2018. Men’s Triples. Selectors on duty are Peter Simpson and Ken Moloney.

Friday 17th August 2018. Men’s Single Entry Pairs. Selectors on duty are Bob McNeil and Bill Murphy."


Goulburn Golf Club Ladies

Results 08/08/2018

The strong winds have kept the fields a little smaller in both Wednesday and Saturday competitions.  Eight ladies contested the last round of Club Medals for weekend players. The winner was Sue De Csuez with 73 nett.  NTP at 8th; Lynette Lissa, TBP Bakery; Ann Ridley and Lynette also won the Putting with 32 on a c/b. These ladies also won the 3 balls on offer.

On Wednesday playing in the very trying conditions Pam Morris played steady to win the Stableford event with 37pts.  Grade winners were Div A Heather Buchanan 33pts, Div B Marilyn Manfred 36pts, Div C Beryl Howe 36 pts.

NTP's 4th H Buchanan, 8th P Morris

Baker's Delight at 17th H Buchanan, TBP Bakery at 5th D Collins.

Crossholes; M Croker 10pts  Wish Award Div C went to Rona Hope.  Beryl Howe won the Supershot Purse.

Congratulations to Heather Buchanan as with the wind blowing a gale it was a controlled shot to the 4th hole for Heather to score her 7th Hole In One.

Maria Corker and Margot Owen won the recently held annual Jenny Aubrey Multiplier event. They blitzed a good field with a mighty score of 90 pts. Runners Up on 75pts were Debbie Collins and Rona Hope. The day is made special by the effort Jenny puts into selecting first prize and crafting beautiful cards to add to it. Her continuous support of this event is greatly appreciated by the players. 

Players are encouraged to contest the Hoddle Cup to be held the first two Saturdays of September.  The list is on the board so please put your name down if you are available. 


Crookwell Squash & Fitness Centre

Crookwell Winter Squash Competition 07/08/2018

Round 10, Tuesday, August 14


Mick Hookham 3 def Danny Yeadon 1

Graeme Andrews 3 def Scott Harrison 2

Graeme Andrews 3 def Ethan Crooks 0

Vicki Kitchen 2 lost to Jesse Schofield 3


Peter Porter 3 def Ben Zyla 1

Dom McCarthy 3 def James Hickey 2

Adam Gay 3 def  Richard Gatty 0

Braydon Crooks 3 def Steph Gay 1


John Crooks 1 lost to Jamie Carr 3

John Crooks 3 def Mick Boulton 0

Mitchell Foord 3 \lost to Kyle Yeadon 2

Stephanie Needham 3 def Shell Barney 1


Discuss "Sports results and draws"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.