All stars on show 

NSW will compete with ACT in a lawn bowls Test Series at the Goulburn Railway Bowling Club on Tuesday and Wednesday, with some of the nation’s best bowlers to be on show.

The NSW men’s side boasts a brace of stars and will feature for the first time Australian superstar Mark Casey. Casey recently signed with St Johns Park Club.

Casey adds to a long list of NSW Blues with National Squad experience including Aron Sherriff (Ettalong), Wayne Turley (Taren Point), Terry Antram (Soldiers Point), Mark Berghofer (St Johns Park), Shane Garvey (Wiseman Park Wollongong City) and Matthew Baus (Raymond Terrace) in a very impressive outfit.

The remaining players also have impressive credentials, with Zel Trbara being one of Merrylands successful Champions League skippers, Corey Daley (Park Beach) a former NSW Singles champion, David Ferguson (Wagga Rules), the most capped NSW under 25s player and a former State Pairs champion, and Carl Healey (Roselands) winner of an amazing five State Championships in the last two years.

The ACT men’s side however will not be taken lightly by NSW. The Blues will be looking for revenge after ACT prevailed in their last encounter, during the 2012 Australian Sides Championship.

The ACT men’s teams consists of Ian Whybrow (Tuggeranong), Shane Stuart (Canberra City), Alan Monfries (Weston Creek) and Rob Chesher (Queanbeyan); Ashley White (Tuggeranong), Andrew Ashlin (Weston Creek), David Thomas (Yass) and Andrew Howie (Tuggeranong); Peter Fahey (Yass), Wayne Toomey (Weston Creek), Mac McLean (Weston Creek) and Damon Jeffery (Weston Creek).

NSW and ACT will also compete in a women’s test series, with the NSW Women’s side equally as impressive as their male counterparts, boasting a number of internationals including Karen Murphy, Claire Duke and Natasha van Eldik.

Current Australian Squad Members Sarah Boddington, Kelsey Cottrell and Beth Quinlan will also feature.

Current Australia A Squad members Anne Johns and Julie Keegan will also compete.

Murphy is the current national singles and pairs Champion of Champions title holder. She also holds the Australian indoor singles crown.

Kay Moran is the national pairs Champion of Champions title holder, while Claire Duke is the reigning singles champion and is fresh from victory at Asia Pacific Merdeka Championship.

The NSW women’s teams consists of Kay Moran (Cabramatta), Jan Agar (St Johns Park), Julie Keegan (Cabramatta) and Karen Murphy (Cabramatta); Sarah Boddington (Bomaderry), Arleen Jeffery (Cabramatta), Beth Quinlan (St Johns Park) and Claire Duke (Cabramatta); Anne Johns (St Johns Park), Sharyn Renshaw (St Johns Park), Katrina Wright (Sutherland) and Natasha van Eldik (Raymond Terrace).

The ACT Women’s side features Paige Dowsett (Weston Creek), Nicole Mengel (Belconnen), Michelle Turner (Weston Creek) and Sharon Harmer (Weston Creek); Maggie Johnston (Queanbeyan), Melda Fowler (Weston Creek), Barbara Winder (Canberra) and Margaret Bacchetto (Weston Creek); Lois Waters (Canberra), Jenny Clout (Canberra City), Kaylene McAullay (Tuggeranong) and Ruth Moore (Canberra City).

NSW and ACT will also compete in an under 25 men’s and women’s test series.

Michael O’Loughlin (Merrylands), Matt Miles (Taren Point), Jesse Noronha (Warilla), Chris Herden (South Tamworth), Alex Lee (Roselands) and Mat Pietersen (St Johns Park) make up the NSW under 25s team. Lisa Mitchell (Cabramatta), Morgan Solman-Stewart (Port City), Jena Mileto (St Johns Park), Jessica Evans (Bomaderry), Naomi Elliott (Cabramatta) and Sarah Hillyer (Birrong) make up the ladies outfit.

Trent Britton (Queanbeyan), Rob Craven (Tuggeranong), Nick Gannon (Tuggeranong), Tom Staff (Tuggeranong), Brad Thomas (Yass) and Daniel Thomas (Yass) form the ACT men’s under 25s outfit.

Jaime Locke (West Deakin), Kristen Steel (West Deakin), Jess Hogan (Weston Creek) and Maree Silling (Queanbeyan) line-up for the under 25s ACT ladies squad.

The players may use the greens for practice from 10am to 12pm on Tuesday.

The first test will be played from 12.45pm to 4pm on Tuesday afternoon.

The second test will be played on Wednesday morning from 9am to 12.30pm.

The third Ttst will be played on Wednesday afternoon from 1pm to 4.30pm.

All in the community are welcome to come along at any time on these days to 

Karen Murphy

Karen Murphy


Discuss "All stars on show "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.